Skip to content

A Good Weekend

October 12, 2008

I played two sessions this weekend, walking away from both with tidy profits.

On Friday, I played at what is currently my favorite room in town, the Hard Rock. They’re not getting a ton of games, but the room is laid out well, there’s good action, good music and bevy of attractive dealers. It’s not a bad place to spend a few hours. Even better when you walk away with a win.

On Saturday, I made my first trip to Caesar’s since I’ve been in town. The room is everything I remembered, and was pretty well filled. I sat in on a pretty loose $2/$5 game and made steady progress throughout the night. There were a couple of players – including a woman from Canada – who just wanted to gamble. The woman made a huge hero call against me in one pot for 3/4 of her stack on a flush and paired board. I’d been betting the pot the whole way and we ended up chopping when we both flipped over K-J. A hell of a call, and one I don’t think I would have made in her position.

She felted another player later on when she made another huge call on a Q-high flush draw and got there on the river. It was that kind of game.

The only room in town that’s really turned me off so far has been the Venetian. I didn’t love the room and the staff were rude and unhelpful throughout the entire night I was there. I can’t see going back for anything other than a special event.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 13, 2008 4:35 pm

    I agree the Venetian Poker Room sucks! I definitely would reccommend the Bellagio though.

Leave a Reply

