Skip to content

Unresolved

December 31, 2008

New Year’s. For many, it’s a time of reflection, rededication and resolutions. For others, it’s just an excuse to get shit-faced in the middle of the week.

While I don’t generally drink to that kind of excess anymore and consider New Year’s to be the world’s ultimate amateur hour, I still find myself identifying more with the people in group 2 rather than group 1. Maybe I’m just not that deep or maybe I just hate resolutions. It’s a question that doesn’t really beg an answer.

Still, while I won’t resolve anything for the year starting January 1, there are things I know I should do to better myself. Work out more. Improve my poker game. Find more work. Find a new girlfriend. Etc., etc. etc.

Will I do any of these things? I think so, though I’m not sure which items will be crossed off my mental checklist and which will just wither and die on the vine of good intentions. As I said, there are things I should do – some of which require more motivation than others. Ideally, I’ll find the time, desire, and drive to accomplish everything I should, but chances are, I won’t. So, for 2009 the only thing I’ll resolve to do is not to make any resolutions.

With that said, have a happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

