Skip to content

Marathon

March 23, 2009

So, after the pain and suffering of Friday night’s session, I decided to return to the scene of the crime and spend some quality time hanging out with CK at the $1/$2 tables at the Venetian on Saturday. By the time I rolled in around 6:30PM, CK had already put in a few hours and was getting ready to go to dinner with some friends from NY.

While she was gone, I quickly doubled up my $300 starting stack after getting paid off when I flopped quad 3s, and and again when I flopped my set of 8s. A nice start, if I do say so myself. What’s even nicer is that I never fell below about $500 for the rest of my 13-hour session. Which brings me to a problem with this post, because after all that time at the table, my brain was pretty mush-like by the time I wandered into the early Vegas morning and dragged my ass home. Still, there are few things that stand out, like:

  • Losing a $600 pot when I flopped my set of 5s against pocket Aces and a club flush draw. The player with Aces was all-in after the flop, and the remaining villain and I got our money in on the turn when I tried to bet him off his draw. That didn’t work, and when the Queen of clubs (crubs!) hit the river, my stack took a big hit. What’s worse – the guy who did me in left the table not long after without giving me a chance to reclaim my chips.
  • Losing another $600 pot later in the night when I limped in from the button with Queen-9 off-suit and flopped top two pair. A woman who had joined the table a little earlier and I were battling it out and she called my flop bet with an under-pair to the board. When a 7 hit the turn, she took a huge lead by making her trips, and took about $350 out of my stack. I did reclaim about half of that money from her before I left.
  • Winning a number of decent size pots over the course of the night with a variety of hands I can’t recall, and being one of the two big stacks by the time I cashed out.

Two other notable hands during the night were played by CK and the uber-aggressive Asian guy on her left. Within the course of two hours, she won a $1,100 pot against him and then proceeded to lose it all back when he shoved against her Aces and he hit his club (crubs!) flush on the river.

I really wish my memory was serving me a little better right now, because it really was one of the weirdest and wildest sessions I’ve played in a long time. It was also one of the richest $1-$2 games I’ve ever seen, with anywhere between $7K and $10K on the table through most of the night.

As for me, I left with a tidy $900+ profit on the night, which was especially nice after my previous two sessions. I only wish I could have played longer, but there’s always next time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. katkin permalink*
    March 23, 2009 10:54 pm

    Read CK’s much more entertaining recap of the night/morning’s session. http://bwop.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

