Skip to content

God Save the Queens

April 25, 2009

I ended up putting in another long session at the Venetian last night. There were some highlights and low lights, but very few interesting stories from the night. So, in the words of Inigo Montoya, “Let me ‘splain. No, there is too much. Let me sum up.”

  • My first table of the night was filled with the most sullen group of people I have ever encountered at a poker table. Still, there was a decent amount of action and I was quickly up about $250.
  • Queens were a running theme throughout the night. On my first table, the woman on my right and I picked up pocket Queens a combined 7 times in 30 hands. They held up almost every time.
  • When they didn’t, I lost most of my profits on a board of 7-9-10 with two hearts. Villain bet out on the flop, and I raised to $70 with my ladies. He shoved all-in for a total of $165. Figuring he was just on a flush draw, I made the call. Bad move me. He turned over 6-8 of hearts for the nut straight and the straight flush redraw.
  • Even after falling back to near my starting stack, I quickly recouped about $150 of what I’d lost before table changing to sit with CK and Senor Pokerati.
  • The new table was much more fun, and Queens continued to be a running theme of the night. They seemed to hit every flop.
  • I ran pretty well against the table, except for the little asian lady in seat five. Twice, I flopped top two on her and twice, she rivered flushes on my. She quietly walked away from the table with about $1,500 in a $1/$2 game – at least $300 handed over by me.
  • Dan learned about the power of crubs the hard way when he and I mixed it up on a 10-high board with, as usual, a crub draw. When he hesitated after I asked him if he knew about crubs, I bet out with my TPTK and he immediately folded. Not sure he’s a believer yet, but another session with CK will do the trick.
  • Back to the Queens – I won two huge hands with them. The first was good for about $300 when I called down a river bluff holding K-Q on a Q-5-5-J-7 board. Then, near the end of the night I got involved in a monster pot when I again picked up the working girls on the button. A player in middle position raised to $15 and got called by the loose Asian kid on his left. The action folded back to me, and I popped the pot up to $60.

    And here’s where it got scary… the original raiser shoved all in for $185 more. Considering he’d been pretty solid, I seriously considered folding until the Asian kid made the call. All of a sudden, I’m getting better than 3-1 to make the call and, I could in OK shape if I’m up against hands like Aces or Kings vs. Ace-King. Or, I could be way, way behind. After a little thought – and taking into consideration that Queens were seemingly hitting every flop, I decided to put my set flopping skills to the test once again.

    What’s in the door? Queen! Thank you. When Asian kid checked, I shoved all-in for the rest of my stack. He thought for about 45 seconds and mucking rather than putting his last $150 in the pot. A rag on the turn and an Ace on the river didn’t change anything, as the original raiser flipped over pocket Kings and I scooped the monster pot. After the hand, the Asian kid said he’d laid down Ace-Queen on the flop. WTF? And yeah – if he really held that hand, I was drawing very, very thin before the flop.

  • Overall, it was a profitable session, and despite losing a few big pots along the way, I managed to quadruple my $300 buy-in on the night, walking away with a tidy $918 in profit. Sure, it’s not CK kind of money, but I won’t complain.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2009 10:31 pm

    Roulette FTW!

  2. April 27, 2009 4:18 pm

    heh nice recap but don’t you want to check to Crasians instead of shipping it all in? When he smells weakness maybe he jams you. heh. Nice hand anyways!!

  3. katkin permalink*
    April 27, 2009 4:35 pm

    Good point and probably the better play. Still, if he actually caught TPTK on that flop, I don’t see how he gets away for his last $150 with that much money in the pot.

  4. May 1, 2009 12:36 am

    Slowplaying the set of queens surely is the best play to try to get that extra $150, right? You have the deck crippled and should be willing to trap on the flop in hopes that remaining Crasian villain will put the rest of the chips in the middle on the turn …

Leave a Reply

