Skip to content

A Better Day Than Yesterday

May 31, 2009

My second day of WSOP duty got off to a mixed start. On the plus side, I was able to talk my way into parking in the overcrowded valet lot by flashing my media credentials. On the negative side, I walked into the Amazon Room to find that today’s tournament had been delayed for an hour because of all of the donkeys in the $1K Stimulus Event.

Fuck. I could have had an extra hour of sleep/lounge around time and gotten to meet my cousin for lunch. Oh well, shit happens.

Once here though, things seemed to go pretty smoothly. We got set up in the big boy area of media row with a nice elevated perch from which to watch the action. And what action it was. Sitting right below me was one of the toughest starting tables of the day, with Annie Duke in the 2 seat, Todd Brunson in seat 3, Max Pescatori in seat 7, and my golf tournament host from earlier in the week, Matt Savage, in seat 8.

A few tables away, another group of heavyweights were intimidating the amateurs. I know I sure as hell wouldn’t want to face Lindgren, Deeb and Hellmuth in the first three seats, and the Grinder in the 9 hole. Ugh.

Just before the bubble burst, Matt Savage told me my first bad beat story of the series. My question is, what fee do you charge a TD for the privilege of venting about how they got sucked out on? (To be fair, Matt really did get shafted. He flopped top set and the nut flush draw, and lost to a wheel.)

The WSOP kick-off party starts shortly and I’m not going to be able to partake in the festivities. We’re currently on dinner break and have 75 more players to lose before we reach the final table and the end of the night’s play. Looks like I’ll be kicking it over at the Hooker Bar again tonight. At least my back isn’t acting up.

The $1K Stimulus Special is being played in the same room. The TD announced they’ve been losing an average of 5.6 players per minute in the tournament. Oh, the humanity.

Our tournament has been moving pretty quickly. That said, there are still 29 players left at 1:25 AM. We’re playing until 3 or a final table, whichever comes first. My money is on 3. I just hope we get out early enough tomorrow so I can stop in at Andy Bloch’s 40th birthday bash.

Savage just walked back into the tournament room a few hours after busting out of the tourney. Degenerate or glutton for punishment? (Chatted with Matt – he’s got 33% of a remaining player. Degenerate it is.)

I’m sure there’s more worth writing about, but my brain is quickly turning to mush.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 2, 2009 6:09 pm

    Welcome to the circus, K.! See you around.

Leave a Reply

