Skip to content

Back

July 15, 2009

So, I took something of an unintended vacation from this space. That’s what happens when you spend almost every waking moment at the Rio for the better part of seven weeks.

Speaking of which, working the WSOP for PN was an interesting experience, but one I’m not sure I want to repeat. Aside from the stretches of utter boredom broken up by minutes of interest, the fact is, PN is just too big and corporate for my tastes nowadays. Not that there’s anything wrong with them being big and corporate… it’s what they’ve aspired to be and, for the most part, it works for them. Just not for me. I’ve done big and corporate before and at this point, it’s not what I want to be doing with my life anymore. If I’m going to write, I want to write about things I find interesting and not feel like I’m censored because of the corporate audience. (Thankfully, that’s not an issue here since I truly believe that I am my own audience, at least most of the time.)

So, that leads me to the inevitable question: what’s next? The answer is, as usual, I don’t know. Working the WSOP did present me with some new contacts and some potential opportunities that could be fun to pursue. I’m not sure there’s a lot of – if any – money in them, but who knows? Again, the experience may be worth the lack of compensation, especially if these projects lead to other things.

Other things are going on away from poker too, as my buddy Jay has been crashing in town as he tries to revive his screenwriting career. We’ve worked on some things together in the past, and there are a few ideas we’re bouncing around in hopes that something might work. Again though, screenwriting seems like such a pipe dream to pursue nowadays that I don’t know if I want to bother. Seeing as how I don’t have all that much on my plate right now though, it seems like something interesting to play with. We’ll see where it all goes.

Anyway, all of this is just a long-winded way of saying I’m back and that this space will once again be filled with mindless drivel. Enjoy.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 11:50 pm

    See you at the V!

    (when I am off my poker hiatus)

Leave a Reply

