Skip to content

It’s Been Awhile

September 1, 2009

I seem to go through this all the time and I don’t know why. I return to this space with the intention of writing here regularly and then, after a few posts, I get distracted and my little blog falls by the wayside. It’s a pattern and, as my buddy Jay would say, patterns have a funny way of repeating. So, with that said, here we go again.

I can’t say I have anything truly new or interesting to report here, but I figure if I start writing, I may at least get back into the habit. So, let’s start with today’s fun and games, which came in the form of the noon time tourney at the Venetian. It’s been awhile since I’ve sat at the live tables and today seemed like a good day to put my foot back in the water.

As daily tourneys go, the Venetian’s isn’t too bad. $150 gets you 7,500 chips and levels last 30 minutes. The structure is a little on the quick side, but if you can double up early, you stand a pretty good shot of making a deep run. I came close to achieving that goal, slowly chipping up to 13,700 by the time the first break arrived. And then, the wheels fell off.

We came back from break with blinds of 100/200/25 and after almost a full orbit of the table, I found Ad-8d in early position. Now, I usually know enough to throw this hand away here but for some reason, I was feeling frisky and made a standard raise to 400. I got called by the one person at the table I didn’t want to mix it up with, an aggressive Russian in the 9 seat with a big stack. When the flop came 10-8-4 rainbow, I bet 1,100 and the Russian thought for a few seconds before making the call. The Jc on the turn wasn’t the card I really wanted to see, but thinking the Russian was still weak, I bet another 1,700. When he raised me 3,000 more, I should have insta-folded but again, my hand acted without checking with my brain and I made the call. I checked the 9c on the turn and the Russian bet 4,000, which represented the better part of my remaining stack. I laid my hand down and he showed me a 10. Good enough sir.

I lost another 1,300 chips a few hands later when I had to defend my big blind with Ac-7c and completely whiffed the flop. By the time the button raised my big blind on the next orbit, I was in the position where I had to shove with A-6 off. He reluctantly called with 5d-6d and looked pretty dejected when I turned over my hand. “I thought I had two live cards against you,” he said.

I just laughed, knowing that one card was enough to screw me and, wouldn’t you know it, the 5c fell in the window. I failed to improve and my tourney day was done. Meanwhile, Jay was nursing a short stack, so I sat down at a $1-$2 game while he tried to keep his hopes alive. The game was pretty entertaining, with a bunch of older guys from Houston who were treating the table like a travelling version of their home game. In the first three hands I watched, King-3 won two pots. It’s their version of the hammer and you have to play it the same way. Raise it like Aces or fold.

So, what did I find on my very first button? Yup – King-3 of diamonds. Figuring it was the nuts at the table, I raised to $10 and got called by one player. I missed the flop, but hit the 3 on the turn and my $20 bet was enough to take the pot. I got a round of applause when I tabled the hand and scooped up the chips. After that I was up and down again (never more than $30 in either direction) when I won my second decent pot of the day, this time with King-3 off-suit. Again, I showed the hand after betting my bluff and again, my hand was roundly approved of by the fun-loving Texans. By this time, Jay had finally donked off his remaining tourney chips and it was time to hit the bar with a whopping $6 cash-game profit in my pocket.

Just think, 100 more sessions like that and I’ll win two full buy ins. I love poker.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 7:43 pm

    If you keep playing K-3, how are you ever gonna flop a set?

  2. katkin permalink*
    September 1, 2009 8:22 pm

    Can’t say I’ll keep playing the K-3, but if I do, I think I hope for trips. 😉

Leave a Reply

