Skip to content

A Little Catch Up

September 19, 2009

I just realized its been a while since I’ve added anything new to this farce of a blog, so look, here are words on virtual paper.

As usual, I meant to get back to this space at an earlier date, but I found myself with limited Internet access during my recent time in LA. So, I had stories to post, but no access to the interwebs. As these things go, now that I find myself with the time and inclination to write, I can’t remember half of the funny or interesting things I wanted to preserve for, well… OK, who am I kidding? There’s nothing in those stories worth preserving.

Still, here are some tidbits from the past few days in the life:

  • This trip was the most fun I’ve had in LA in a long time, including the last months of my residency in the City of Angels. Maybe it’s because I spent most of my time on the west side, as opposed to in the Valley where I used to reside. Maybe it’s because I spent a lot of time catching up with good friends I don’t get to see too often. Maybe I was just in a better mood than usual. All I know is that for the first time in a while, I was actually somewhat sad to see LA disappear in my rear view mirror.
  • When I run bad, I run really bad. Not only did I donk out of the Commerce tourney I played in near record time (played three pots, lost two and was done), but I experienced a run-bad of epic proportions in my long running Chinese game. I couldn’t buy a winning hand while Eric the bonus whore found straight flushes, quads and special hands on a regular basis.
  • Malibu may be filled with uber-wealthy stars and starlets who have no ambition greater than finding their next drug fix or fuck buddy, but it’s also got some of the most entertaining and beautiful driving roads anywhere in the world. This made it an especially fun place to wring out my car for a few hours while bombing through the canyons and back roads of this seaside paradise. Of course, it also proved to me that Vegas is a horrible place for a car guy who actually enjoys driving the wheels off his vehicle every once in a while. That’s something that will have to be addressed in some fashion in the not-too-distant future.
  • I’m not alone in my current lack of purpose/motivation. This may actually be the most important tidbit I picked up over my five days in LA, as every one I talked to seemed to be in exactly the same boat I am. We’re not unwilling to go back to work, but we’re not willing to go back to a job. It seems like everyone is looking for the same thing – an opportunity to work for ourselves or, lacking that, to work at something in which we feel invested and interested. Sure, we all want to earn money (it’s a good thing), but none of us are willing to go back to the typical 9-5 grind just for the promise of a bi-weekly pay check. So, now the question that I’m facing yet again is, what do I want to do with my life?

So, that’s what LA did for me this time. It reminded me how important it is to hang with people I like, to go to places that I enjoy, to take pleasure in the simple things like an afternoon drive along the coast, and to re-examine the things I want to accomplish with my life. All in all, a pretty successful trip.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

