Skip to content

Forty Deuce

October 1, 2009

21 years ago today, I was allowed to take my first legal drink. I did so at T’s Pub, a bar on Boston’s Commonwealth Avenue near the West Campus dorms where I spent my first two years an undergraduate. Don’t get me wrong, this certainly wasn’t my first time inside of T’s or my first drink at their fine bar, but that drink was different. Special. It was a rite of passage and the beginning of a new stage of my life.

A lot has changed in the 21 years since my official admittance into adulthood. I’ve had jobs and lost jobs. I’ve gained a niece and four nephews, and lost my father. I’ve been broke and (reasonably) flush with cash. I’ve lived overseas and in five states in various regions of the country. I’ve been in relationships and been single. In short, I’ve lived what I consider a reasonably fulfilling and maybe even interesting life over the past two decades.

Does this mean there aren’t things I wouldn’t change? Of course not. I’ve made my share of dumb decisions and bone-headed mistakes over the years, and looking back, there are certainly some missed opportunities that could have changed the direction my life has gone. I have no regrets though. Sure, maybe I could be richer or have a wife and family, but that’s not where my path has taken me so far. And I’m not sure having those things would make me any happier than I am today. I know I’m not looking over the fence to see if my neighbor’s grass is any greener than mine, so I see no reason to complain about my current situation.

Now, 42 is certainly no milestone birthday. My vote doesn’t count twice as much as it did when I turned 21 and I know I can’t drink twice as much as I used to (in fact, I probably can’t drink half as much as I used to, which is fine too). Still, it’s 21 years down the road from when I became an “adult”, and it seems worth marking just for that fact alone. So, with that in mind, I’ll be heading to the bar later today for a celebratory toast to the next 21 years. Will they be as eventful, profitable or happy as the previous 21? I’d like to think so, but I guess the only way to find out is to keep plowing ahead and doing the things I enjoy for as long as I find them enjoyable.

Honestly, if I have even half as much fun over the next 21 years as I’ve had in the past 21, I’ll consider myself lucky.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2009 2:29 pm

    Sadly, I can min-raise that…

    Also, sadly my first legal drink was with my Mom and a friend of her’s…

    Enjoy life! Happy Birthday, child.

  2. Marc permalink
    October 2, 2009 3:02 pm

    Great post, Jon.

    Happy Birthday.

    There’s a chance I’ll be in Vegas for Halloween for a fight. If so, let’s celebrate the 21st anniversary of our 21st birthday with a drink.

  3. Pauly permalink
    October 8, 2009 6:10 am

    Happy belated b-day.

Leave a Reply

