Skip to content

Incoming

January 15, 2010

I don’t know how many of you watched old war movies growing up, but if you did, you know what I’m referring to. During the climactic battle scenes in just about any WWII movie, some unlucky soldier would look up and announce “Incoming” just before getting blown off the face of the earth.

I guess it’s nice to see your destruction coming, but still, that’s gotta suck.

In my case, I’m not expecting any heavy artillery to land on my humble abode here in the desert, but rather, the chaos that only a family visit can bring. And I’m not talking about just one family member here. Nope, instead I’m preparing for an invasion from the entire clan.

Now don’t get me wrong. I love my family and we do, for the most part, get along pretty well. Still, this is the first time everybody will be here in Vegas since its become “my city” and there’s a certain trepidation that comes along with the fact that I’m supposed to play tour guide and keep everybody reasonably close to happy. The only thing I know for sure is that alcohol will be involved. If not for them, then certainly for me.

Actually, it should be a fairly fun weekend as the reason we’re gathering is to celebrate – a couple of weeks late – my sister Julie’s 50th birthday. We’ve planned dinner at Mario Batali’s place in the Venetian for Saturday followed by Penn & Teller over at the Rio (thanks again Emily). On Sunday, I think we may get out of town for a while and take a road trip down to the Hoover Dam, which should be fun, provided that no one jumps or gets thrown over the edge.

Other than that, I’m not really sure of our plans. I figure low stakes table games and maybe a trip through the new Aria and its related mall so that the fam can ooh and aah over the latest and greatest that Vegas has to offer.

Hopefully, I’ll survive the weekend in something resembling one piece, but if not, does anyone out there know the number of a good medic?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

