Skip to content

Vampire

February 11, 2010
tags: ,

I’ve always been a night person.

For as long as I remember, I’ve gone to bed between 1AM and 4AM and, given the opportunity, wake up somewhere between 9AM and 10AM. It’s just how I’m wired and it works pretty well for me. I crash when my body is ready for sleep and, generally, wake up early enough to catch some daylight and not feel as if I’ve slept an entire day away.

Even when I worked in radio and had jobs that required me to work odd hours – such as arriving in the studio at 3AM – I devised split sleep patterns that let me see a few hours of sunshine and even enjoy an evening out with friends if I wanted. That said, the shifts I despised were the complete overnights where I was either in the studio from 9PM to 5AM or, worse, 12AM to 7AM. Heading home when the sun is rising just feels wrong and, when you’re working in a windowless prison in New York, you can go weeks or months without seeing daylight during the winter months on that kind of schedule. It’s depressing and you feel useless because you’re sleeping through the day time hours when you should be out and about.

Which brings me to my current problem. As a poker player living in Vegas, my natural biorhythms usually work in my favor. I head to a local card room somewhere around 8PM or 9PM and play until 2AM or 3AM. After that, I’m usually home and in bed within an hour. Sometimes, I’m up a little later (or earlier, as the case may be), but my patterns are pretty standardized. That is, until the past two weeks.

For some reason, I’ve been watching my bed time slip later (or earlier) each day over the past fortnight until today, when I went to crash at 4AM and found myself awake until 6:30 this morning. I just couldn’t sleep until I saw the sky start to lighten outside my window and, even then, I never really felt like I hit a deep sleep. The consequence being, I was awake at about 2PM, but couldn’t drag my ass out of bed until about 4PM.

Now, I’m going to be up all night (not a problem), but probably won’t be able to hit the rack again until around 7AM. It’s a slippery slope that’s going to have me sleeping through the entire day and staying awake all night unless I can figure out a way to reset my system.

I know there are options, both legal and illegal, and I may avail myself of one or more of them sooner rather than later. Late night workouts of one type or another may do the trick or I can opt for chemical assistance of one type or another. All I know is that I have to do something soon or I may never set foot outside in daylight ever again.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 7:29 am

    That sucks. (Sorry. It had to be said.)

    Benadryl and/or Ambien are always helpful, but there’s a third option you haven’t mentioned, and which I mention only because, being a night owl and a bit of an insomniac myself, I’ve tried it. Why not just keep working your way around the clock? As long as your sleep cycle isn’t, say, 12 hours long, you’ll get back to sleeping and waking at normal (for you) hours eventually.

    If not, I have garlic, and I know where to get my hands on some holy water.

  2. katkin permalink*
    February 11, 2010 9:14 am

    I’ve been thinking about the around the clock thing. I also have some “herb-type” medicine that may help do the trick. I trust the natural stuff more than Ambien and other sleep meds.

  3. February 11, 2010 2:43 pm

    Sounds like a variant of jet lag. I hate to use profanity but there is one word I will send along — EXERCISE.

  4. February 12, 2010 6:22 pm

    Melatonin. Buy some at your local drug store or health food store. It will do wonders for you.

Leave a Reply

