Skip to content

Racing Sucks

February 13, 2010

Actually, that’s not completely true. In fact, I’m a big fan of racing if it’s done in fast cars and I’m driving. But racing at the poker table? I’m not a fan.

Of course, there are many times you can’t avoid races at the table, especially during tournaments where you’re playing a finite chip stack that’s constantly being worn down by blinds and antes. Which explains how I lost two hands to end my deep run in today’s Deep Stack tourney at the Venetian.

While I wasn’t getting hit by the deck (aside from the time I flopped quad 8s and took down a 60K pot), I managed to hit enough hands during the day to build my chip stack to a respectable 105K with 80 players left out of a starting field of 390. I was moving comfortably along when my table broke and I was moved to Seat 7 at Table 55.

With blinds of 800/1,600/200, the pot was opened to 4,500, enticing two calls before action reached me in the hijack where I looked down to find Qc-10c. Figuring I had a playable hand (damn you CK), I came along, as did the button. The flop couldn’t have been prettier, falling 9c-Jc-6h. When action checked to me, I led out for 17,000 and the button took a few seconds before moving all in for an additional 45,000.

The action folded back to me and, not having seen any action at the table before this hand, I had to assume I was facing a solid player with a real hand. I ran through the action again trying to make sense of the play. I couldn’t put him on an over-pair like Aces or Kings since I think he would have re-raised preflop, and I suspected he wasn’t putting his tournament on the line with something as weak as a naked Ace with the nut-flush draw. That meant he had two pair or, perhaps, a set and I was behind.

Still, I had a ton of outs (9 clubs, including the King and 8 for the straight flush, along with six other straight cards) and, after running through the action, I decided I just couldn’t lay down my hand. Imagine my surprise when I called and my opponent turned over pocket Jacks.

I’m telling you here and now, Negreanu has nothing on me. That said, I promptly whiffed both the turn and the river, leaving myself on a short stack of around 32K.

Lemon.

Still, I battled back a little and chipped up to about 38K before my last hand of the night which took place with blinds of 1,000/2,000/300. A player in middle position raised to 11K for the second hand in a row when I looked down to find As-Qs in the small blind. With less than 20 BBs in front of me and 17K in dead money in the pot, I made the easy shove for about 27K more. Considering my opponent only had about 40K left in front of him when I moved in, I figured I had pretty good fold equity unless he held a monster. So, imagine my surprise when he said, “OK, let’s gamble” and made the call with King-Jack off.

Beautiful. Or so I thought.

When the flop fell  Jack-10-5 rainbow, I suddenly found myself behind and in need of hitting one of my 9 outs just to survive. They didn’t come and, just like that, I’d gone from being the front-runner when the money went in to sucking wind like a fat man running up a mountain when the hand was done.

Like I said, racing sucks.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2010 7:45 pm

    Look, if you don’t have the whistle, you can’t blame me if the crubs don’t get there!

    Remon about the tourney 😦

  2. February 15, 2010 5:48 am

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Betty

    http://illinoislottery.info

  3. katkin permalink*
    February 15, 2010 10:23 am

    Thanks Betty. I’m glad you’ve found something enjoyable in this strange little corner of the web.

Leave a Reply

