Skip to content

I Got Dumb

February 26, 2010

“Don’t get cocky, kid.”

–Han Solo

Ever have one of those sessions where everything you do works? Every raise gets through. Every continuation bet takes the pot. Every call is correct.

Yeah, I did too. And then I got dumb.

I was sitting in a nice little $1-$2 game where the players were just what you want. Weak, tight and willing to fold to even the littlest bit of pressure from a well-timed bet or raise. Sure, there was one crazy loose luckbox who hit every hand he played, but if you steered clear of him, the table was yours for the raping. Which is where I went horribly, horribly wrong.

I had built up a nice little stack when I decided to call a small raise from the button with Ac-8s. The flop was pretty sweet, coming 8s-5c-3d and, when the original raiser led out for $15 into a pot of $30, I popped the action up to $40. Action folded back to the raiser, who was one of the tightest players at the table, and he reluctantly called. This was the first warning bell I missed.

The turn brought the 10s and this time, the raiser checked to me. I led out for $70 and he thought about his action before min-raising me and leaving himself just $100 behind. This was the second warning bell I missed. I should have known right there that I couldn’t be good, but I’d been running so well up until this point that I couldn’t bring myself to believe what my instincts were telling me.

Of course he’s pot committed, I told myself. He hasn’t gotten out of line yet tonight. You’re way behind. Fold.

Stupid inner monologue, I thought. He’ll fold to just a little more pressure. “I’m all in.”

Not so much.

Not only were his pocket 10s good the whole way, but he hit a boat on the river just to rub a little salt in the wound.

Of course, there’s no one to blame here but myself. I should have taken more note of who I was in the hand with and slowed down when he called my raise on the flop. But when you’re running well, you just expect things to keep going your way and for people to lay down when you want them to.

Next time, I’ll listen to my instincts. Maybe Han Solo, too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

