Skip to content

Three Hands

April 8, 2010

I was going to write a post about some cash game poker that I played earlier in the week, but I haven’t gotten around to it and, at this point, it’s hard to remember everything I wanted to talk about, even with my notes.

So, I’ll just say, it wasn’t a great session. I lost two big pots – one when I got called with Aces on an all in and the other when the player on my right made an amazing hero call with Ace-8 to notch my Ace-7. C’est la vie. That’s poker. Yada, yada, yada.

I can say the same thing about tonight’s escapade.

I got talked into playing the 6:30 tourney at Red Rock with some friends and, for $75 bucks, I figured it would be good for some fun. The tourney is nothing special – your standard evening turbo with blinds doubling every 20 minutes.

I did well early on and built up a decent stack that carried me to the final table. So far so good. I won some hands and lost some hands, but generally, got my money in with the best of it.

With the blinds 1,500/3,000/300, no one had a very large stack by the time we got down to four-handed play. I was the big stack with about 65,000 when the first hand happened.

The player in the cut-off min-raised to 10,000 and I looked down to find Ac 5c on the button and decided it was good enough for a call. The flop couldn’t have been prettier either, coming Kc 5s 9c. A pair and the nut-flush draw. My opponent moved all in for his last 15,000 or so and I made the call. When he showed Qc 10c, I was even happier with my spot.

Stupid me.

Of course, a red Queen hits the turn and I can’t improve on the river. Bummer.

A few hands later, we got down to three-handed play and I had recovered a good portion of the chips I’d lost. At this point, I looked down at As 9s on the button, and made a raise to 12,500. The small blind moved all in for an additional 20K, and I again called. When he showed Ac 3s, I was again thrilled with my spot.

Stupid me.

The flop came A-K-5 and I was still way ahead. A red deuce on the turn didn’t hurt me, but a black one on the river gave us both two pair with a King kicker. A split pot. Bummer. Again.

Just over an orbit later, the same player raised to 15K from the button and I looked down to find As Qc on the button. So I moved all in and he called. When he showed Ad 10h, I got happy again.

Stupid me.

A 10 on the flop was all he needed to double up and cripple me. Major bummer.

Two hands later, I moved all in with Q-10 from the button and got called by pocket Kings. I hit a Queen on the flop, but couldn’t find anymore luck. Bummer.

Overall, I was happy with my play and, if not for some bad luck, I would have walked away from the game with a much bigger payday.

But hey, a cash is a cash, and I shouldn’t complain.

I shouldn’t, but damn it, I should have won.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marc permalink
    April 9, 2010 7:53 am

    Congrats on the final table. Did you finish 4th? How many people were in the tourney?

  2. katkin permalink*
    April 9, 2010 9:43 am

    Thanks Marc. I took third actually, but it was a pretty small tourney. About 40 players.

Leave a Reply

