Skip to content

A $500 Cheeseburger

April 15, 2010

Well, kind of.

In fact, the cheeseburger was free. The poker room manager at the Hard Rock comped dinner for everyone who helped get the Pokerati game started tonight. And, I have to admit, it’s a nice touch.

I just wish it didn’t cost me $500.

If you haven’t figured it out, by the way, last weekend’s run good is long gone. (You’re not the only one Grump.)

The game was pretty good tonight, with me, Dan and bunch of college buddies from Chicago who took their old home game on the road. I bought in light – just $200 – while the Chicago guys, who were a couple of rounds into the night, each bought in for $400.

My buy-in was gone before the first orbit ended. The hand was pretty standard for Omaha. I made a pot-size bet on the turn with two pair and King-high flush draw, only to get called in two places. When I caught my flush on the river, I shoved my last $120 in the pot and got one caller – who had the nut flush.

Reload.

I put another $300 on the table and watched my stack fluctuate for a couple of orbits. Up $75. Down $50. Up another $30. Nothing too serious. And then, my next big Omaha hand happened.

This time, I called from the button with 10-10-A-8 single suited and flopped top set on a board of 10-2-5. I made a $36 pot bet and got one caller. A 4 on the turn wasn’t really the card I was looking for, but that didn’t stop me from making another pot-size bet. When my opponent re-potted, I knew he had the straight, but I was too committed to the hand to let it go. I moved all in and he called.

We ran the river twice and I couldn’t get the board to pair either time.

Oh well. Shit happens and I’ll just chalk it up to the variance of the game. Still, $500 seems like a lot to have paid for a cheeseburger.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Poker Grump permalink
    April 16, 2010 12:09 am

    Hey, I think you got a good deal. I’ve paid that much for a copy of Card Player magazine.

  2. dallas guy from chicago crew permalink
    April 19, 2010 9:45 am

    fun game. you weren’t the guy who split with me on the huge pot where i had the almost-nuts, were you? we got it all in after the flop where i had top set (aces) and nut flush re-draw. we ran it twice and the guy (maybe you?) caught a runner-runner straight while avoiding the flush. i still want to know what the odds were there – had to be miniscule. hard to believe if i hadn’t run it twice, i’d’ve lost outright.

  3. katkin permalink*
    April 19, 2010 12:06 pm

    It was a fun game, but no, that wasn’t me.

    The only hand I ran twice was my last one where I flopped top set and one of your buddies caught the wheel on me on the turn.

    That said, we’ll have to revisit this game the next time you guys are back in town.

  4. dallas guy from chicago crew permalink
    April 19, 2010 3:35 pm

    no doubt, we’ll do it again. the guy i’m talking about had a kangol-ish hat on. pokernews, maybe?

  5. katkin permalink*
    April 19, 2010 5:09 pm

    Kangol-ish hat? Yeah, that sounds like that was @matthewparvis from Poker News. I’m sorry I didn’t see the hand.

  6. dallas guy from chicago crew permalink
    April 20, 2010 9:00 am

    definitely him, thx. lesson learned = play poker with poker journalists, be prepared to read about it the next day.

Leave a Reply

