Skip to content

Thursdays Are Getting Good

May 7, 2010

In general, I focus most of my live poker playing in Vegas on weekends when you’re more likely to find a higher proportion of loose/drunk players at the tables. But, after tonight, I may have to start playing more live poker on Thursdays as well.

Last week, I put in a short $1-$2 session at the Venetian and left up more than $800 after just four hours. I thought about trying to duplicate that feat tonight, but CK said the games were extremely tight so, instead, I headed to the other side of the Strip and took a seat in the Pokerati game.

I’m glad I did.

For those of you unfamiliar with the game, it’s a $1-$2 round of each featuring No-Limit Hold ’em and Pot-Limit Omaha. The game has a pretty solid base of regular players and can be a little bit of a hit-or-miss affair in terms of the quality of competition.

Tonight was fairly average, with Dan, Jess, Rex and me representing the regulars, and a variety of other random folk, including Matt Waldron and Rob Gracie, popping in and out of the game throughout the night.

I started out the night a little on the shaky side, losing and winning my share of pots, including a $100+ hand to Michalski who rivered a straight in Omaha to beat my two pair. At my worst on the night, I was down about $140 or nearly half of my $300 buy in.

Thankfully, I turned things around pretty quickly when I took down the biggest pot of the night ($600+) with a full house. From there, I continued my winning ways, taking down a few more pots before finally calling it a night around midnight. I finished the session up a little more than $900 for four hours of “work”.

If I can keep this up (which I know is unlikely), Thursdays may quickly become my favorite night of the week.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 12:16 pm

    If anyone raised to $7, everyone folded. If somebody sneezed at the pot, everyone folded.

    However, after some O-8 tilt-inducing nonsense, I went back to $1/$2 NLH later in the night (around 10pm). Turned out to be rather profitable.

    Maybe 6pm – 10pm was no man’s land last night.

Leave a Reply

