Skip to content

A Wild Ride

May 16, 2010

I love roller coasters. I have ever since I was a kid. Hell, I even had a summer job as a ride operator at Rye Playland where I got to run roller coasters during the day and then, ride the famed Dragon Coaster in the dark after the park closed each night.

Last night at the Venetian, I felt like I was back on the tracks as my chip stack went through some wild fluctuations throughout my seven-hour session.

First, let me tell you that I was never in the black last night. I started with a standard $300 buy in, which I got slowly whittled away over about two hours as I kept showing up with the second best hand at showdown. I think I lost four different pots with two pair during that stretch.

I finally dusted off my last $100 when I called a $20 raise with 8s 9s from the button after four other players had entered the pot. The flop was as perfect as I could ask for, coming Js 10s 6d and, when action checked to me, I moved in for my last $80. I got called by two players, including the table maniac, and couldn’t improve when the board bricked out on the turn and the river. The maniac took the pot with Jack-6 off suit.

After a quick walk around the room to clear my head, I re-bought and began my wild ride. I won a couple of small pots to recover about $150 of what I’d lost when I got involved in another hand with the maniac.

This time, he raised to $25 from middle position and got called by the kid on my right. When I looked down to find pocket Kings, I re-raised to $100. The maniac quickly moved all in for an additional $50 and, when the kid folded, we went heads up. The board came all rags and, when I turned over my Kings for what I was sure was the winner, my nemesis tabled pocket 6s for a flopped set.

Once again, I began the rebuilding process and again got my stack up over $450 before missing yet another big draw. This time, I flopped top pair with Ad 10d and check-raised my opponent all in after picking up a straight draw and the nut flush draw on the turn. He tanked for a brief time before calling with the bottom end of the straight and his hand held when I couldn’t connect. Again.

Down to about $150, I managed to restore my stack to nearly $500 yet again before losing almost everything one more time when, for a second time, I failed to connect on a board where I again held an open-ended straight draw and the nut flush draw.

I finally caught a nice run of hands near the end of the night, flopping two sets and turning two full houses in the span of about 10 hands but, even with that run, I couldn’t claw my way back to even on the night.

Even though I ended the night down $100, I’m fairly happy with my play. I didn’t tilt when I lost big hands and was consistently able to recover most of my chips after just about every time I shipped the majority of my stack to some other player across the table. I made some good lay downs when I knew I was beat and I feel like I made good bets at the right time, but just couldn’t get lucky when I needed to. (And, no, that’s not unusual for me, before you ask.)

With all of that said though, I think I’d rather take my next roller coaster ride at an amusement park, thank you very much.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2010 7:27 pm

    On a different night with the same cards, you’d win $1000 or so – just the vagaries of poker.

  2. katkin permalink*
    May 16, 2010 9:13 pm

    You’re absolutely right Dave. It was just one of those nights where eeking out a small loss ended up feeling like a win. Of course, that’s never as nice as pulling down a real win, but sometimes you have to take what you can get.

Leave a Reply

