Skip to content

“You Played it Masterfully”

October 23, 2010

It was a quiet, gray afternoon here in Vegas, so I decided to head out and play a little poker. Looking around at my options, I decided to try the 7 pm tourney at Caesar’s, since this was the second day of their Mega-Stack series and I thought there might be a decent turn out.

Of course, this being Caesar’s, this afternoon’s tourney only drew about 150 players and generated very little spill-over into the evening tourney, which ended up with a reasonable 43 players.

I never really got anything going in the tourney and short-stack ninja-ed my way through about two-thirds of the field before finally busting in 16th place. I also can’t say I had any really interesting hands, except for one that came shortly after the first break when blinds were 100/200/25.

I was in the big blind with about 7,700 in front of me when action folded to the button, a German woman who was obviously playing in her first ever tournament. She min-raised to 500 and the dbag on my right made the call from the small blind. I looked down to find 7-3 off and decided that I could afford a loose call with the pot laying me more than 4-1.

When the flop fell A-7-3 with two diamonds, the small blind and I both checked to the woman, who bet just 200 into a pot of 1,725. The small blind called and I check-raised to 2,100. When the button called, the small blind also tried to call, but threw in a 5,000 chip without announcing call, effectively re-raising me. At this point, I did the only thing I could and shoved for the remainder of my stack.

The button called my all in and the dbag in the small blind decided he had committed himself to the pot, so he re-shoved for another 6,800, effectively putting the button all in if she called – which she did. Once the main and side pots were sorted, the hands were revealed.

Dbag held A-4 off for top pair, shit kicker while the button held pocket Kings that were drawing very thin against his over-pair and my flopped two pair of 7s and 3s. No one had a flush draw and, when the board bricked out, I scooped up the main pot while the now very tilted dbag took down the side.

“What the hell were you doing in the hand?” he asked.

“I made a loose call.”

“You’re an idiot,” he responded.

“Maybe,” I replied. “But I’m still stacking chips.”

“7-3 off-suit. What a joke. I figured I was ahead of your hand on the flop.”

“You thought you were ahead when I shoved?”

“I had an Ace.”

“And you played it masterfully,” I said before turning to my next hand.

Needless to say, Mr. Tilted DBag busted about five hands later.

Grange would be proud.

Advertisements
4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2010 1:48 pm

    Indeed, I am proud. Not of your solid play, but of your witty repartee …

    Inducing tilt in d-bags is community service for poker players.

  2. October 23, 2010 4:15 pm

    I love it. He played lost his entire stack with Ace-rag and you’re the donk.

    When the button called, the small blind also tried to call, but threw in a 5,000 chip without announcing call, effectively re-raising me.

    At the Tunica casinos, if he doesn’t say anything, an oversize chip is assumed a call. It happens more often that a player meant to raise, but didn’t say so, (and can only call) than the other way around.

  3. KevinG permalink
    November 21, 2010 8:24 pm

    1 chip rule? Isnt that a call, not a raise?

  4. katkin permalink*
    November 22, 2010 7:24 am

    It would have been a raise had he just used one chip. Because he used multiple chips, it was counted as a raise.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: