Skip to content

Afternoon Delight

November 11, 2010

I don’t often play midday sessions, especially during the week. There’s no real reason for this, other than the fact that I’m generally more of a night person and that I think the games get better after dark.

That said, I had to do something I particularly hate today – hit the Fashion Show mall – and since the Venetian is just across the street, I figured I’d make the best of the situation by playing some cards after finishing my errands.

I grabbed a seat at a fairly new table at about 3:30 pm and watched a few incredibly slow and painful hands. When the floor man walked by, I quickly table changed to a better game where there was more money on the table and better action.

Things started pretty slowly as I won and lost a couple of pots in my first few orbits, giving me a profit of about $50 on my $200 starting stack. Not bad, but not great. Things got better on the next orbit, however, when I called a $10 raise from the button with 5s-7s. The flop was about as pretty as I could ask, coming Qs-6s-8s. A flopped flush with the open-ended straight flush redraw. Yahtzee!

My opponent, the woman on my immediate right, led out for $20 and raised the action to $70. When the called, I put her on a big spade like the Ace or King and found myself in the odd position where I wasn’t looking for another spade unless it was the 4 or the 9. The turn was a brick – the 2d – and when my opponent checked, I bet another $70. She called, as I thought she would.

The river was a red 7 and when my opponent checked again, I moved in for about $110. She folded and as I scooped up the chips, the player in the 9 seat asked me to show the Ks-Qs.

“I would if I could,” I said, at which point he began speculating on my hand.

“I think you had the spades. I can’t see you firing three times without them,” he said. I shrugged and folded my next hand without saying another word.

He and I mixed it up on the next orbit when four players limped into the pot and looked down to find A-Q off in the small blind. I decided to slow play what could be a big hand, so I limped as well and six of us saw the rainbow flop, which came Queen high. Action checked around and the turn brought the Jc, which put a flush draw on the board.

Deciding there was no benefit in checking again, I bet $10 and the 9-seat raised to $30. Action folded back to me, and I made the call. The river was the 10s, which didn’t appear to change much, and I bet $50. The 9 seat folded and showed a Jack, so I showed my Queen before scooping up the chips.

As it turns out, the 9 seat and I weren’t done tangling yet. He straddled the next hand and two players called before action reached me on the button. I looked down to find Ac-10s, so I made the call. When the action got back to the 9 seat, he raised his straddle to $20 and the other two players folded. With position, I figured my hand was strong enough to see the flop so I made the call.

The flop came 9-A-9 rainbow, and I called my opponent’s $30 bet. The turn was the 7h, and this time, my opponent bet $50. I didn’t love my hand at this point, but I also didn’t think my opponent had a 10 so I made the call, hoping that I wasn’t out-kicked. The river was a red 4 and when my opponent checked I thought about my action for a few seconds.

There was a good chance my Ace was good, but with a mediocre kicker, I was worried that my opponent would check-raise if I value bet and force me to fold. So, I took the safe route and checked behind before flipping over my two pair. My opponent looked disgusted and quietly mucked his hand before walking away from the table. Since I never saw what he held, I can only guess that he something like Queens or Jacks.

At the end of the hand, I realized I was up a little more than $400 in just over an hour’s worth of play and decided to do something I almost never do – hit and run.

I’m generally not a fan of stop-wins, but after tripling my stack in such a short time, something told me to pack up and go while the going was good. So, I played around until my blinds and then picked up and cashed out with a nice little profit.

Now I just have to learn how to do that more often.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rakewell permalink
    November 11, 2010 7:37 pm

    Why would the guy ask you to show the Ks-Qs when the Qs was on the board?

  2. katkin permalink*
    November 11, 2010 8:31 pm

    Who knows? He probably just misread the board.

Leave a Reply

