Skip to content

Seriously?

January 20, 2011

If you haven’t already figured it out, this blog occupies an incredibly small corner of the Internet. I don’t get tons of traffic and, to be perfectly honest, I don’t particularly care. I figure that those of you deranged enough to visit this space have found something here you like (though I can’t figure out what that might be) and that those people who haven’t stumbled into this little time-suck are probably better off for never having heard of me.

That said, this space is absolutely, positively, 100% mine. I get to pick and choose the topics I write about. For better or worse, I am the entire editorial staff and that’s just the way I like things here. Sure, I may ask a friend to write a guest piece (not that I’ve ever done so), but even then, an outside submission to my site would come from someone I know and trust, and would be about a topic on which I think they have a particularly original or informed opinion. Again, it’s about editorial control.

So, imagine my surprise when I woke up to find the following email waiting in my inbox:

Hi there,

My name is Xxxxxxx Xxxxxxxx and I am contacting you about guest blogging on your site on behalf of a group of writers dedicated to writing poker content.

We have some of the best guys in the business for this type of writing and would really like to get their regular, free and unique content on your site.

The only thing we would ask for in return is a couple of links per article back to relevant poker pages. This can actually to the depth of the piece.

I can give you more information when you get back to me, but this something that can hugely benefit your site. you will have regular quality content and the links will be to strong pages, so this will also assist your site.

Let me know if you are interested as we would love to get things started this week.

Thanks

Xxxxxxx

Putting aside my original WTF reaction, I had to read this email a second time to fully realize how ballsy a request this really was.

Let’s begin with the fact that this was an email from someone I’ve never met or heard of before. Fine. I provide an email address for potential advertisers to use if they want to contact me, so I can’t complain when someone actually reaches out with a query.

But look at the email again. This person isn’t asking about advertising on my site – he’s asking to let people I don’t know post content on my site. That’s like asking to let his buddy sleep with my girlfriend. It’s just not gonna happen. What’s more, he’s making the request in what I consider to be a pretty insulting manner because it’s obvious that this is a form letter that I’m sure he’s sent to hundreds of other bloggers over the years.

Aside from the fact that there’s not a hint of personalization in his email (he could have sucked up by saying – or implying – that he’s at least read my stuff), the email strikes me as incredibly self-serving. Let’s look at the relevant sections of the letter again:

We have some of the best guys in the business for this type of writing and would really like to get their regular, free and unique content on your site.

The only thing we would ask for in return is a couple of links per article back to relevant poker pages. This can actually to the depth of the piece.

I can give you more information when you get back to me, but this something that can hugely benefit your site. you will have regular quality content and the links will be to strong pages, so this will also assist your site.

What’s this guy’s primary goal? As I read this letter, it’s to get more exposure for his writers by giving them another outlet on which to post their articles. And, for this, all he asks is that I do him the favor of linking back to some, as of yet, unnamed site that I may or may not want to promote. Sounds great. For him.

And what do I get in return? Vague promises of “regular quality content.” You know what, buddy? I’ll pass as I’m happy with my irregular, somewhat shitty content, thank you very much.

Would I mind monetizing this space? Of course not. So, if you have a real offer and don’t mind providing actual details about your client and what you’re offering, feel free to contact me at chaostheoryjk@gmail.com. Otherwise, do us both a favor and look for some other sucker.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Rakewell permalink
    January 20, 2011 5:33 pm

    ” I’m happy with my irregular, somewhat shitty content.” Best laugh I’ve had today.Thank you.

    Oh, and, I know the “it’s stupid but it’s mine” feeling exactly.

  2. katkin permalink*
    January 20, 2011 6:00 pm

    Glad to be of service.

  3. January 20, 2011 8:01 pm

    Wow, my site is so bad nobody even thinks they can save it with their superior writing. You are blessed to be the recipient of such a great offer.

    Oh, and I’m glad you turned them down. 🙂

  4. January 20, 2011 8:02 pm

    Got same this week, too. Same pitch verbatim, right down to the “This can actually to the depth of the piece” error.

    They should hire some of those best guys in the business to write their emails. That could hugely benefit and assist them.

  5. January 20, 2011 9:44 pm

    Wonder what their gimmick is? This for a link? or?

  6. January 21, 2011 4:33 am

    Yeah, got it too. It is an SEO thing aimed at the gullible. There are others like putting in a link to a bloggers tournament on some site. 🙂

  7. January 21, 2011 6:17 am

    I got the same email. When I got to the part about “the best guys in the business” my ego took over and I thought “Obviously not, since I’m not one of them!” Then I deleted it. Sometimes my rampaging ego amuses the hell out of me.

  8. katkin permalink*
    January 21, 2011 10:38 am

    That’s funny John – when I saw the line about “the best guys in the business,” I thought “Hell, I know most of them.”

  9. January 22, 2011 5:25 pm

    Watch out for the “follow-up” emails those guys are persistant.

  10. katkin permalink*
    January 23, 2011 2:22 am

    Persistance is fine Drizz. If they keep making stupid “offers” I can continue to ignore/mock them.

  11. January 23, 2011 10:22 am

    I always respond to e-mails like that with a “if you think the content will benefit my site so greatly, why don’t you create your own blog and post the content over there?” Some don’t reply at all, while some make up the craziest stuff I’ve seen. Try it guys 🙂

Leave a Reply

