Skip to content

Incompetence

December 23, 2011

Vegas isn’t making it easy for me to leave town. On the other hand, it’s making my decision to get out of Dodge a whole lot easier.

For the few of you who saw yesterday’s post, you’ll remember that I negotiated a deal to sell my car to a local BMW dealer. All was good in the world, and I agreed to stop back today to hand over the keys. Which I did. And that’s when things went to shit, because the person I was dealing with – and/or the used car manager – apparently has the intelligence of a hamster.

Honestly, that’s the only excuse I can come up with, as I don’t know how you agree to purchase a vehicle and then, in the paperwork phase of the deal, realize that your corporate bosses have put a freeze on new (used) acquisitions because you’re “over stock.” Seriously, that’s what I was told less than 24 hours after the dealer had agreed to purchase my car. How fucking stupid are you people?

In most cases, this wouldn’t be a big deal, as I could hold onto the car for a while longer or sell it privately. Of course, my deal wasn’t most cases, as I’m scheduled to board a flight to the East Coast in less than 24 hours, and keeping the car around while I’m out of town isn’t a viable option. So, across the street I went to CarMax where they were happy to purchase my automobile – albeit at $2.000 less than I would have gotten from BMW.

Of course, beggars can’t be choosers, and with my back up against the wall, I had no choice but take a deal for significantly less money than I wanted. So, with that in mind, I just want to take a second and say fuck you very much to the good folks over at Desert BMW.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

