Skip to content

It’s the End of the Year As We Know It (And I Feel Meh)

December 30, 2011

With apologies to Michael Stipe and the boys in the band, I really couldn’t come up with a better title to sum up how I feel about the end of the current year. 2011 had some good parts and some bad parts, and for me, at least, ended pretty poorly.

If I was an optimist, I’d say that means things can only look better in 2012. Unfortunately, I’m more of a pragmatist (I like to think I’m a realist, but I know that’s debatable), but whatever you call me, the fact is, optimism isn’t my default setting in life. I’m much happier when I look at things skeptically and expect the worst so that I can be pleasantly surprised when things occasionally go as planned or, perhaps, even work out better than expected. I know it’s not always the cheeriest way to go through life, but I never claimed to be cheery either.

With all that in mind, I’m currently sitting here in the NYC ‘burbs, trying to figure out what 2012 may hold. To begin, I’m going to assume the Mayans are right, and that the world will end sometime in the next 12 months. It’s not that I believe this is really going to happen, but it’s that whole glass half empty approach to life that I mentioned earlier. If we make it to this time next year… bonus. If we don’t? At least I won’t be disappointed in the outcome. Either way, my expectations will be met or exceeded.

Potential world destruction aside, the thing I’d really like to find in the next 12 months is some sort of stability. For me, that means a new, steady source of income and a new place to call home. I have some prospects for these things on the horizon, but I can’t really tell how close I may be to achieving either of these goals right now. In the meantime, I’m floating along with the current, trying to make the best of a murky situation.

In the short-term, I’ll be using NY as something of a hub while I bounce around the East Coast for a couple of months. My expected travels with take me north to New England (Boston, Newburyport, and Becket, MA) and south toward Philly, DC and, perhaps, Greenville, SC. I may even end up on a plane and journey back out west with stops in Vegas, and both the LA and San Francisco areas. Like I said, nothing is very clear right now, except for the fact that nothing is really clear right now.

With my life currently in this state of general chaos, you might think I’d have some sort of resolution in mind for the new year. The thing is, I don’t. Well, not really anyway, since the only resolution I ever make is to never make New Year’s resolutions.

With the Earth completing another journey around the sun, I know it’s easy to take this time and tell ourselves that everything will get better in the next 365 days if we just put our minds toward making it so. The thing is, we can say this at anytime of the year and make it true. January 1st isn’t some magical day with the power to provide us the willpower we lacked at other times during the previous 12 months – it’s just the start of another calendar year.

Am I saying the next year won’t be better than the last? Not at all. Instead, I’m saying that the next 12 months are what we make of them. In my case, 2012 has a solid shot at being better than 2011 only because, for me, it’s hard for it to be worse. As for you, my friends and readers, I can only wish you the best of luck in achieving your goals for the next year.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

