Skip to content

Struggling

January 31, 2012

Believe it or not, I’ve actually been doing a fair amount of writing here lately. I’ve also been doing a lot of editing and, sadly, trashing of posts that, for lack of a better word, sucked.

There are times that I have been called out for being my own worst critic and I have to admit that, on occasion, I am. Unfortunately, I don’t really think I can blame my recent lack of production on hyper-criticality. Instead, I’m facing the simple truth that my writing just hasn’t been very good of late. And interesting? Fugheddaboudit. So, what am I doing to try and fix these problems, aside from boring you with my public navel gazing? Writing more and trashing less.

With that in mind, consider this post a warning. I’m giving myself a goal of posting something here at least once a day for the next month. I won’t promise that what I post will be good, interesting or even coherent, but unfortunately for you, that’s not my goal. Instead, I simply want to write something, edit it, and post it into the world so that I can remember what productive writing is supposed to feel like. Hopefully, I’ll find my voice again somewhere along the way and be able to provide content that both you – my reader (I’m convinced there’s only one of you left, by the way) – and I will be able to enjoy. I’m not making any promises, so please, read at your own risk.

Will this plan work? I have no idea, but at this point, I figure it can’t hurt. So, take a deep breath because we’re about to take the plunge.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

