Skip to content

Stretching

February 2, 2012

When I originally created this blog, I didn’t intend for it to focus on poker all of the time. In fact, if you look at the subhead under the main title, you’ll notice it reads “Random thoughts on random events.” The thing is, my writing hasn’t been all that random and, honestly, neither have the topics that I’ve touched on over the years this space has been in existence.

Like it or not, poker has been a central facet of my life for the past seven years and, as such, has dominated much of my writing in that time. Sure, there have been occasional diversions into other areas but, in essence, this has been just another poker blog. Hopefully, that’s about to change.

I’m not sure why I stopped writing as much as I used to, but I have a pretty good idea. Firstly, I blame laziness and Twitter. The fact is, like many other bloggers in our increasingly fast-paced culture, I didn’t want to have to set aside a chunk of my day in order to share my latest and greatest insights with the world at large. And with Twitter, I don’t have to. See something funny? Fire off a tweet. Have a clever bon mot to share? Keep it under 140 characters and off it goes. Send a TwitPic and save 1,000 words.

The more I tweet, the less I have to say at the end of the day. The less I have to say, the less reason to write. It’s a vicious circle. Couple that with the fact that I’ve been writing more and more about less and less in terms of topics and, to quote Bill Murray from Stripes, “Boredom set in.” In short, I fell into a big, fat rut that I’m still having trouble climbing out of.

So, while this is yet another navel gazing post (I promise, I’ll try to stop these soon), I think it’s serving an important purpose as I try to find the spark that made me want to write in the first place. I’m actually trying to force myself to think of things to write about. Things around me. Political things. Stupid things. Annoying things. Funny things. Non-poker things. Obviously, I’m still having some trouble getting started, but that’s OK because, right now, I feel like I do when I periodically force myself back into the gym. I’m stretching muscles I haven’t used in a while and they kind of hurt.

The thing is, like working out, I know the more I do this, the easier it will become. At least that’s what I’m telling myself each time I sit down in front of my keyboard and bang my head against the wall. Speaking of which, does anyone have some Advil?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 1:36 pm

    You can get lost on Twitter and it is more about now. I’m finding Twitter is making me blog more and blogging is helping me write more. Good look finding some Advil 🙂

Leave a Reply

