Skip to content

Behind Enemy Lines

February 4, 2012

Alrighty then. This is going to be a short post, mostly because of the fact that I’m trying something new and writing this through the WordPress app on my iPad. A virtual keyboard just doesn’t compare to a laptop.

Why the iPad? Because I’m in the middle of a quick weekend jaunt up to Boston where I’m preparing to watch my beloved New York football Giants beat the Patriots in today’s Superbowl. I’m deep in enemy territory with no support, so traveling light is essential. If you don’t hear from me in two days, look for my body in the marshes near Swampscott.

My New York loyalties aside, I’m really looking forward to watching the game up here, even though I’ll be surrounded by my rabid Boston friends. For them, this game is payback for us ruining their perfect season (yes!), and for me, it’s a chance to experience this Superbowl matchup in a way I didn’t get to enjoy last time. Simply put, watching the NFL in Dublin, Ireland just isn’t the same as it is here in the States.

Now I know this is the point where I’m supposed to be diplomatic and say it doesn’t matter which team wins since the most important part of the game is spending time with good friends and enjoying a shared experience. And while that sentiment is all well and good, it’s also complete bullshit. Of course it matters who wins, because to the victor goes something more important than money or a ring. They get bragging rights and the opportunity to taunt their fallen enemy until the next time these two teams meet again.

Like the commercial says, that’s priceless.

So settle back, enjoy the game, and remember, GO GIANTS!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2012 10:13 pm

    A nice read

  2. February 5, 2012 8:52 am

    I found out the hard way that it does matter who wins the game.

    Steelers vs Cardinals – Cardinals have been my adopted team for a long number of years and that bond grew even stronger when they started raiding our talent and our coaches, plus they have Fitz from PITT.

    So the Super Bowl comes and it’s a dream come true for me with BOTH of my teams and I feel and tell everybody that it’s a can’t lose situation because I love both teams dearly.

    Then, Fitz takes that pass and runs by everyone and the Cards are now winning and it hits me. NO F’N WAY do I want the Cards to win this thing.
    I go into panic mode.
    I sit, on the floor, Indian style. Clutching a Steelers Pillow to my chest and rocking back and forth with nervous anticipation.
    People are trying to talk to me, tell me there is still time. Other words that I only hear in the back ground.
    The game cannot be going down this way, this cannot be happening. This is MY PARTY with my friends and I’m one of only 2 Steelers fans here. I’m going to go ballistic.
    Then the Steelers end up winning and I’m calm and sane again.
    What was I thinking?

    That was the most intense 3 minutes or whatever of my life, seriously.

  3. February 5, 2012 10:13 am

    I’ve tried and tried, but I don’t have a dog in this hunt – I dislike Brady enough to kill my normal Boston bias (almost). Also, Apple wireless keyboard.

  4. katkin permalink*
    February 5, 2012 10:21 am

    Honestly, I never expected to have a dog in this fight, considering how poorly the Giants started.

    My buddy PJ convinced me I needed a Giants jersey for today’s game, but the stores up here don’t carry any (homers). So, without an NY jersey, I’ve resorted to the next best thing – a BU t-shirt in a house full of BC grads.

    I’m flirting with danger here.

Leave a Reply

