Skip to content

Progress Report

February 9, 2012

I’m about 10 days into this project, and I’m seeing some results.

Words are coming easier and faster, and the writing is beginning to flow a little more. There’s a little something to muscle memory.

As for the style. Not so much. I’m writing, yes, but not so well. Things feel flat. Disconnected. Dull.

So, it’s time to work on that. If you’ve noticed, I’m using very short sentences right now. With no transitions. And few descriptors or extra words. It’s a radio thing. Writing tight. Concise. The goal is to tell a story using the bare minimum of words. Because words are time. And the more time you use, the fewer stories you can tell.

I used to be good at this. I had to be. It was my job, after all. But then I quit. Moved on to other things. Other types of writing, like marketing, where precision isn’t required. Is frowned upon, in fact.

Marketing writing is a different beast. Your goal is to hype. To sell. To create desire. Need.

Marketers like flowery writing. Adjectives. Adverbs. Poetic descriptions. They like to use five words where one will do. Marketing writing is the antithesis of journalism. It can make your writing soft. Flabby. Verbose. It did mine.

Now, I’m trying to tighten things up. Get back to my roots. This post is an extreme example, but it’s a start. Ideally, I want to get back to crafting tight sentences that tell a story. With pace. With style.

Question is… can I do it?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 9, 2012 8:16 am

    It’s amusing to me but what you say above is one of the reasons that I started my blog up last year.
    Actually, started trying to write a bit more at work and then decided to start the blog just to put pen to paper so to speak.

    I remember back in high school and college taking creative writing classes and being able to just come up with ….stuff…. when I needed to.
    I enjoyed writing and creating and now I feel like I have stories to tell but I don’t know how to even approach them to get them into written form that would be worthwhile for anyone other than myself.

    Keep it up, I’m sure it will come back to you in the eventually!

Leave a Reply

