Skip to content

Failure Is Always An Option

February 12, 2012

Yup, I blew it. I didn’t post anything yesterday, but I tried. I started the same post four different times only to keep trashing it before I got halfway finished. Sometimes, no matter how hard you try, the words won’t come and there’s just nothing you can do about it.

Failure sucks, but it happens.

Which brings me to the day’s other big news – the untimely death of Whitney Houston. I can’t claim to have been a fan, but I also can’t deny her talent. Still, while Whitney’s death may be sad, it certainly shouldn’t come as a shock. She’d been failing for a long time.

Whitney was blessed with more than an incredible voice. She capitalized on her talent and earned more money than most of us will ever see in our lifetimes. She could afford anything she wanted, including treatment to help her beat the demons and addictions that most likely led to her death. Many people with similar problems don’t have that luxury.

I don’t claim to know what problems Whitney was dealing with or how screwed up her personal life may have been. That said, I’ll find it hard to feel badly if it’s determined that she died because of an overdose. She was an adult. She knew the risks associated with her behavior and, more importantly, she had the means to pursue a meaningful recovery if that’s what she wanted.

That she may have chosen poorly just proves what I said at the beginning of this post. Failure is always an option, no matter who you are.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

