Skip to content

Considering the Unthinkable

February 22, 2012

After college, I spent one somewhat painful year living in the small town of Medina, Ohio.

Maybe it was because I moved to a small town after spending four years living in Boston. Maybe it was that I was young and inexperienced in living outside of a major metropolitan area. Maybe it was the fact that people in Ohio were just nicer than the people I was used to in New York and Boston. I don’t know, but whatever the reason, Ohio and I just didn’t mesh.

The daily paper that I worked for took a chance on hiring me right out of college, and I felt like I couldn’t just pack up and leave even though I knew that’s what I wanted to do almost immediately after I’d arrived. So, I toughed it out and spent a fairly miserable year in the Midwest. When I left, I vowed never to live in the center of the country ever again.

Today, I find myself considering breaking that vow.

If you’ve read this blog even occasionally, you know that I’m a car enthusiast. I love everything about cars, from the way they look to the way they sound and, of course, the way they drive. I read all the popular car magazines, I watch all of the popular car shows, and I drive everything I can get my hands on. Knowing this, it should come as no surprise that one of my dream jobs is to write for an auto-related publication like Car & Driver or Automobile.

So, why haven’t I pursued any of these jobs before? Aside from the fact that the major mags like writers who also have engineering degrees (which I don’t have), they’re all located in Detroit. Forget for a minute that Detroit has a reputation as one of the most depressed and dangerous cities in the country. I can deal with that. My problem is that it’s also smack in the middle of the Midwest.

They say beggars can’t be choosers and I’ve been looking for full-time work for a while now. So, when a job lead that sounds almost too good to be true comes my way, I have to chase it, even it means potentially relocating to Michigan. So today, I did the unthinkable. I applied for a job in the Midwest. Will I actually have to consider moving to Detroit? It all depends on if I get the job.

Right now, I’m taking one unthinkable step at a time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 10:47 pm

    I know my man-card gets revoked for this, but I have never been into cars.
    Muscle cars, classic cars, whatever.
    The only one that really perks my interest and I know it’s purely for the total nerd factor is the old Delorian.
    One day I will own one and I will have a flux capacitor installed.

    I do applaud you for putting the application in though, Follow your dreams because only good things can come from that.

  2. February 23, 2012 10:10 am

    wow, the ecconomy must be bad.

Leave a Reply

