Skip to content

Why the Hell Not?

March 4, 2012

Clicking through my RSS feeds led me, as it inevitably does, to Grump who mentioned that this is apparently Hooker Week for poker bloggers. And no, that doesn’t mean I’m heading out to try my luck with any of the ladies of the night, but I am instead, sharing one of my favorite hooker-related stories. (Living in Vegas for the past three years, I have more than a few.)

This particular story takes place downtown at the Golden Nugget during Rodeo Week. A few friends and I had decided to play the 11pm hold ’em tournament at the Nugget and to have some fun wandering around Fremont Street after we all eventually busted. (The 11pm Nugget tourney is really nothing more than an excuse to drink and have fun while playing some relatively cheap poker.)

After registering to play, we had some time to kill before the tournament started and, seeing as the Nugget’s center bar is just mere feet from the poker room, that’s where we adjourned. A few of us were talking and couldn’t help but notice the young cowboy who was talking with an obvious (to us) working girl. He was working her with everything he had, which was pretty funny since she was the definition of a sure thing. Still, she played along and their conversation had to have run for 15 minutes or more before the cowboy asked the question of the night.

“So, what do you do?”

The woman took a second to form her response before answering simply, “I’m a pleasure provider.”

If you’d had a portable x-ray machine, I’m sure you could have seen the gears turning inside the cowboy’s head as he tried to determine exactly what the definition of her job could possibly be. After what was probably just a few seconds, you saw the penny drop and the lightbulb come on.

“Oh, that’s ah, nice,” he stammered before pulling the classic move of looking at his watch and noticing how late it had suddenly gotten. I don’t know if that kid ever ran away from a bull any faster than he high-tailed it away from the bar, but I’d bet against it.

A few minutes after the cowboy left, our tournament started and we left the hooker sitting at the bar awaiting her next potential customer. I’m sure there was someone in the Nugget who was seeking the kind of pleasure she was offering.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2012 9:51 pm

    Nice story.
    Gun Ho one minute and then looking for a quick escape the next minute.
    Funny thing is he was probably willing to spend about the same amount to get into her pants on booze and whatnot for the rest of the evening as it would have cost as a “fee” but the nature of her work scared him off.

  2. March 5, 2012 12:04 am

    Reminds me of the scene in Crocodile Dundee. I would love to hear what the cowboy told his friends!

  3. March 5, 2012 12:20 am

    Great story. At least he was able to figure out what a “pleasure provider” was on his own. If he hadn’t figured out the gal was a hooker before that, it was probably a tough one for him to figure out. It was great that you were close enough to here the conversations, I almost never am, and my stories would be better if I was.

  4. March 6, 2012 10:20 pm

    Poor cowboy! Great story though. It reminds me of my blog entry “how to use math to be a better poker player.” Probably old news to someone like you who has been living in Vegas though!

Leave a Reply

